About Our Club

La Trobe University Soccer Club is dedicated to the the personal and sporting development of young people. Through our men's and women's soccer program, all players have the chance to learn about the game, practice their skills and develop the ability to contribute their own unique voice in a supportive environment. 


While striving to be the best performing soccer club we can, we will always create a fun and social environment where members can build lifelong friendships and positive memories of their time at LUSC.

La Trobe University Soccer Club is a member-run community organisation with a 50-year history. What started off as a group of 11 men in 1968, interested in a social kick on the weekend, has turned into a club that is proud to be represented by over 210 members, with players representing every continent of the world. Currently, the club is proud to have nine senior teams: three women's and six men’s. In 2021, we successfully ran our first Miniroos program which attracted over 80 kids during the year.

Our Club has a rich culture of social values and has always maintained its initial concept as a place for people to enjoy themselves and play soccer. This is evident in not only the number of members the club has attracted over the past few years, but also the acceptance of multicultural values that each member brings.

Club Membership Fees for the 2022 season:

  • Current La Trobe University students: $300

  • All other players: $400

  • Miniroos juniors: TBD

To register your interest in joining our Club for the 2022 season, please complete this form

Registration is done via FFA's My Football Club portal.

You can pay online via credit card or transfer funds directly into the LUSC bank account. Bank account details are:


Name: La Trobe University Soccer Club
BSB: 063233
Account: 10089406

Make sure you include your name in any transfer into the bank account.

Club Committee

Zoe Houghton
Vice President

Member since 2021

Andrew Karafillis
Member since 2021
Steve Patrick
Sponsorships Coordinator
Member since 2014
Petr Kuzmin

Member since 2016

John Antonopoulos
Registrations and FV Officer 
Member since 1989
Luke Carbone
M1 Coordinator
Member since 2018
Daniel Winter

Member since 2021

Roshan Abedi
Grants Coordinator
Member since 2015
Timeline of Club History

1967 University seeks interest from students to form soccer club.
1968 La Trobe University Soccer Club is formed.
1971 After a 2 year lay off, the club is reformed.
1974 The club is registered to the play in the Victorian Soccer Federation Victorian District League North.
1983 The club gets promoted to Victorian Amateur League Division 1.
1985 The Reserve’s Team wins Victorian Amateur League Division 1 Championship.
1986 The Reserve’s Team wins Victorian Amateur League Division 2 Championship.
1986 The club gets promoted to Victorian Amateur League Division 1.
1995 The Club forms the LUSC Women’s Team to play in the Women’s Soccer Victoria Division 4.
1997 The club welcomes the Warriors Veteran’s Team to join the club to form the La Trobe University Warriors.
1997 The Men’s Senior Team gets promoted to Victorian Provisional League Division 2 North-West.
1999 The Women’s Team joins the Victorian Soccer Federation Division 1.
1999 The club forms the La Trobe University Third’s.
2001 The Women’s Team win the Victorian Women’s Division 1 Championship and gets promoted to Victorian Women’s Premier League.
2001 The Warriors win Victorian Veterans League Division North West Championship.
2004 The Lower Playing Fields Pavilion is built and opened on June 1st.
2004 The Men’s Senior Team gets promoted to Victorian Provisional League Division 1 North-West.
2005 The Reserve’s Team wins the Victorian Provisional League Division 1 North-West Championship.
2005 The Men’s Senior team gets promoted to Victorian State League Division 3 North-West.
2006 The Fourth’s Team (Eagles) is created.
2006 The Third’s Team wins Victorian Thirds Division North Championship.
2007 The Women’s Team win the Victorian Women’s State 3 North West Championship.
2008 The current Old Boy’s Team is formed, winning the Championship in their first year.
2011 The Senior Men’s Team wins promotion to Victorian Men’s State League 2 North West.
2013 The Women’s team wins promotion back to State 2 North West, after relegation in 2012.
2014 A Fifth Men’s Team (Super Eagles) is created.
2014 The current State 4 Women’s Team is created. For the 3rd time, LUSC has 2 women’s teams.
2016 The Third’s (Eagles) team win the Men’s Metropolitan League 2 North-West Championship.

2018 LUSC celebrates 50 years since the club’s creation in 1968.

2019 Two new social men’s teams (M5 and M7) are created, for the first time LUSC has had 9 teams. LUSC is named La Trobe University Sports Club of the Year.

2020 Season cancelled due to COVID-19.

2021 LUSC adds a third women's team for the first time in its history. Season cut short by COVID-19.